This is the "Mission College Research Portal" page of the "Research Portal" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Portal  

Your portal to research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources compiled by your Mission College librarians.
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.missioncollege.org/home Print Guide RSS Updates
Mission College Research Portal Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Mission College Library

Mission College Library is committed to supporting the information needs of all students regardless of location.

Mission College Library Check Out Desk

Information Desk: 408.855.5151
Check Out Desk: 408.855.5150

Library Hours

Spring 2014, January 27 - May 25:

Open Hours:
Mon-Thurs: 8:30am - 8:00pm
Friday: 10:30 - 3:30pm
Saturday: 10:00-2:00pm

Closed:
Presidents Day, February 14 - 17
Spring Break, March 29 - April 5


About the Library

Library Website
Staff Directory
Events and Exhibits

A Brief Introduction to the Library (3:37 minutes)
This tutorial provides basic information about the Mission College Library. Development funded by Title III AANAPISI Grant.

Virtual Tour of the Library (7:58 minutes)
Take a virtual tour of the Library to learn where the various collections are located. This tutorial includes sound.

 

Speak with a Librarian

Research help is just a phone call away. Call our reference desk (408 855-5151) during regular library open hours and speak with a librarian about your research needs. 

When the library is closed, you can still get help with research for your Mission College courses by using the Library Reference Request Form. However, because we cannot guarantee a response in less than 24 hours, your best option is to come in or talk to a librarian during the Library’s open hours.

Mission College Resources

  • Research Databases
    Search for articles in newspapers, journals, magazines, online reports, and reference books.
  • Library Catalog
    Search for books, streaming videos, DVDs, and other material at Mission College Library. You can place a HOLD on items for easy pick-up next time you are on campus.
  • Library Handouts
    Tips, suggestions, and resources for research and study. Most are also available in hard copy format in the Library.
  • Library Instructional Tutorials
    Short self-paced instructional tutorials that are structured to build skills related to research, finding information in the Mission College Library, and citing sources. Development funded by Title III AANAPISI Grant.
 

NoodleTools


Click on the logo (above) to access NoodleTools. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to enter your name and Mission College I.D. before gaining access to NoodleTools.

For information about NoodleTools, go to the Citing Sources/Plagiarism Resources page.

 

My Library Account/Renew Books

If you have checked out material from Mission College Library, you can renew material as well as place holds online.

 

Request a Book from Another Library

You can use the Mission College Library's LINK+ service to request books from over 30 other libraries in California and Nevada. Requested books can then be picked up at either Mission College or from one of the 30 member institutions (which may be closer to you). See the list of libraries where you can pick up requested material.

 

Search other Library Catalogs

Find books and other material at other libraries in the California San Francisco Bay Region.

Research 101

Learn about library resources and get started with your research.

Subject Specific Research Guides

Comprehensive guides that include links to Mission College Library & Web resources.

Subject Specific Web Guides

The following are lists of recommended Internet links to be used for further research.

  • Business
    Includes marketing, accounting, company information, non-profit organizations.
  • Citing Sources/Plagiarism
    Style guides for MLA, APA, etc., as well as tips for avoiding plagiarism
  • Fire Technology
    Includes codes, regulations, fire prevention, and hazardous materials information.
  • Global/Multicultural
    Includes global health, business etiquette and customs, ethnicity, religions and belief systems.
  • Government
    Federal, state, local; also general government resources.
  • History
    Includes civil rights, primary historical documents, social movements.
  • Information Competency
    Includes standards, definitions, and tutorials.
  • Legal Information
    Laws, the court system, legal forms, and research help.
  • Textbooks Resources
    Places to borrow, buy or rent textbooks.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip